Space Foundation adds new board members

On April 20, Colorado Springs, CO-based Space Foundation, a nonprofit advocate organization founded in 1983 for the global space ecosystem, announced the addition of five new members to its board of directors. The new board members include:

  • John Hyten, USAF (Ret.), former Vice Chairman, U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Jeff Ashby, former NASA Astronaut and Senior Executive
  • Roy Azevedo, President, Raytheon Intelligence & Space
  • Pascale Ehrenfreund, President, International Space University (ISU)
  • Kam Ghaffarian, Executive Chairman, Axiom Space


In addition to these appointments, two new representatives assumed seats held by corporate executives who have since retired from their respective companies. They include:

  • Thomas L. Wilson, Corporate Vice President and President, Northrop Grumman Space Systems
  • Edward J. “Ed” Zoiss, President, Space & Airborne Systems, L3Harris


One individual was re-elected to another two-year term as the New Gen representative on the board of directors:

  • Lauren Smith, Program Manager, Satellite Servicing, Northrop Grumman Corp.


In announcing the election of these distinguished individuals to Space Foundation’s board, Space Foundation CEO Tom Zelibor said, “These new leaders will further build and expand the legacy of an organization that has for nearly 40 years led the way in information, education and collaboration across the global space ecosystem. Space Foundation is in good hands with their new stewardship of this organization’s future.”

Source: Space Foundation

If you enjoyed this article, please consider becoming a paid subscriber. Your support helps keep our site ad-free.