Vencore’s Zalenda Cyrille among 2016 INSA Achievement Award winners

INSA logo 112On January 14, the Arlington, VA-based Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) announced the six recipients of the 2016 INSA Achievement Awards. The awards recognize outstanding midlevel professionals from government, industry and academia supporting the U.S. national security mission.  The recipients are:

  • Zalenda Cyrille, Senior Program Manager, Vencore (Edwin H. Land Industry Award)
  • Cynthia Epler, Defense Intelligence Agency (Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award)
  • Robert Lagnado, Senior Protective Intelligence Research Specialist, U.S. Secret Service (John W. Warner Homeland Security Award)
  • Jared McGuire, Executive Officer, U.S. Coast Guard Cryptologic Unit Colorado (William O. Studeman Military Award)
  • Satyabrata Sen, Research Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Sidney D. Drell Academic Award)
  • Candace Sharkey, Intelligence Research Specialist, Drug Enforcement Administration (Richard J. Kerr Government Award)

INSA President Chuck Alsup said, “INSA is proud to recognize this class of Achievement Award recipients. They have demonstrated leadership and mentorship qualities that distinguish them as future leaders of the intelligence and national security workforce. It says a lot about them individually and about the type of young men and women working to keep our country safe. I look forward to joining the recipients, their friends, family and colleagues to honor their service at this unique INSA event.”

The 2016 Achievement Awards ceremony and reception will be held Tuesday, February 9, at the Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C. The keynote remarks will be delivered by Director of National Intelligence James Clapper.

The recipients were selected from a record 70 nominations submitted by senior leaders and managers across the national security community and supporting industrial base. The selections were made by a committee comprised of INSA’s leadership and members of the Intelligence Champions Council (ICC).


The INSA Board of Directors established the Achievement Awards in 2010. The six awards are named each after a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual



for sustained excellence in their contribution to national security affairs over a considerable period of time.


Source: INSA