NGA’s Wever named to Presidential Leadership Scholars program

National Geospatial Intel 112Katherine Wever, chief of the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency’s Support Team to U.S. Transportation Command at Scott Air Force Base, has been selected to be a member of the Presidential Leadership Scholars class of 2016, NGA announced March 24.

The Presidential Leadership Scholars program is a six-month leadership development initiative led by the U.S. presidential centers of Lyndon B. Johnson, George H.W. Bush, William J. Clinton and George W. Bush. The presidential centers partner to bring together a select group of leaders selected from across the nation to develop their leadership strengths to help their communities and our country.

Wever, a resident of Edwardsville, IL, currently serves as NGA’s lead at USTRANSCOM. Wever heads the NGA team responsible for all NGA support to and mission partnership with the command.

“I am honored to be part of an exceptional program and for the opportunity to develop my leadership skills to benefit NGA, USTRANSCOM, Scott Air Force Base and the Southern Illinois community,” Wever said.  “I am humbled by the quality of my fellow citizens participating in this program — all of us wishing to make the country a better place and to serve our communities and country.”

Wever is one of 61 scholars from various sectors – private, public, nonprofit, military and academia – selected to participate in this year’s program, which began at Monticello, Thomas Jefferson’s home, in February.

Over the course of the program, scholars will travel to participating presidential centers to work with former presidents, key administration officials and academics to learn and put into practice varying approaches to leadership, develop a network of peers, and exchange ideas to help them make an impact in their communities.

The curriculum draws from presidential center archives and resources related to leadership moments from each administration. It includes insights from how each president addressed pressing challenges and benefits from the participation of former presidents George W. Bush and William J. Clinton.

Source: NGA