INSA announces 2019 Achievement Award winners

The Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) of Arlington, VA anounced the recipients of the 2019 Achievement Awards. These awards recognize outstanding early to mid-career professionals in the intelligence, national security and homeland security communities, as well as the senior leaders who inspire their success.  The seven recipients will be honored at a Thursday, February 21 awards ceremony, from 6:00-9:00 pm, at the U.S. Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C. More than 200 senior government, industry and academic leaders will attend this festive evening, which includes keynote remarks by Lieutenant General Robert P. Ashley, Jr., director, Defense Intelligence Agency.

Achievement Award recipients:

  • Capt. Nicholas R. D’Andrea, USAF, Division Chief, Special Programs, National Reconnaissance Office
    • William O. Studeman Military Awarduniformed military up to and including O-3 and equivalent enlisted rank
  • Philip HaddadTargeting Analyst, Department of Homeland Security
  • Saeben HaveringtonIntelligence Analyst, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
    • John W. Warner Homeland Security Award – first responders and domestic government employees up to and including GS-13 and equivalent rank
  • Lori Anne ParkerSenior Intelligence Officer, Department of Homeland Security
    • Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Awardopen to all public, private and academic elements up to and including GS-15/O-6 and equivalent rank
  • Dakota S. RudesillAssistant Professor, Moritz College of Law at The Ohio State University
    • Sidney D. Drell Academic Awardgraduate students and untenured professors
  • J. Travis ThompsonIntelligence Officer, Defense Intelligence Agency
    • Richard J. Kerr Government Award – civilian government employees up to and including GS-13 and equivalent rank
  • Adam Van Etten, PhDTechnical Director, In-Q-Tel CosmiQ Works
    • Edwin H. Land Industry Awardcontractor and non-government employees

The selection committee found Haddad and Haverington to be exceptional nominees for the John W. Warner Homeland Security Award and named them dual recipients.

INSA Chairman Letitia Long noted, “INSA is pleased to honor these exceptional individuals for their significant contributions to our national security. Their fresh perspectives and commitment to mission enrich their organizations and bring honor and distinction to the entire intelligence community.”

The INSA board of directors established the Achievement Awards in 2010 to broaden public recognition of the professionals who serve U.S. intelligence, national security, and homeland security missions with distinction. Each award is named for a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual for their sustained contributions to U.S. intelligence and national security affairs.

Source: INSA