INSA now accepting nominations for 2016 Achievement Awards

INSA logo 112On August 10, the Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA), based in Arlington, VA, opened the nomination period for the 2016 Achievement Awards, which recognize up-and-coming leaders from the intelligence and national security communities. The recipients are nominated by their peers, mentors and professional colleagues from across the public, private and academic sectors. The six awards and eligibility criteria are as follows:

  • Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award – Nominees would come from public, private and academic elements up to and including GS-15/0-6 and equivalent rank.
  • Sidney D. Drell Academic Award – Nominees would include graduate students and untenured professors.
  • Richard J. Kerr Government Award – Nominees would be civilian government employees up to and including GS-13 and equivalent rank.
  • William O. Studeman Military Award – Nominees would be uniformed military personnel up to and including 0-3/E-6.
  • Edwin H. Land Industry Award – Nominees would include contractors and nongovernment employees with 8-10 years of nonexecutive experience.
  • John W. Warner Homeland Security Award – Nominees would include law enforcement personnel, intelligence analysts and first responders from the federal government and state, local, tribal and territorial (SLTT) partners.

The most recent Achievement Award recipients were from the FBI, National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), National Security Agency (NSA), Office of Naval Intelligence (ONI), Northrop Grumman and the U.S. Coast Guard, respectively.

INSA President Ambassador Joseph DeTrani said, “INSA is proud to host the Achievement Awards once again in 2016. This is a truly unique awards program, providing recognition to individuals much earlier than most professionals from the intelligence and national security communities are accustomed. We feel this is vital support for the future leaders of our national security enterprise. We encourage all of our members and partners throughout the Intelligence Community (IC), as well as those who may not be familiar with INSA, to nominate a co-worker or colleague who has represented the IC and national security workforce with distinction.”

The INSA Board of Directors established the Achievement Awards in 2010 to recognize the accomplishments of entry- and mid-level professionals and mentors working in intelligence and national security. The six awards are each named after a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual for sustained excellence in their contribution to national security affairs over a considerable period of time.

Both online and printable versions of the nomination form are available at Instructions to submit nominees who would require a classified nomination are available by contacting INSA at

Nominations for all awards will be accepted through Friday, October 30, 2015. Recipients will be acknowledged at the 2016 INSA Achievement Awards reception, which will be held in early February 2016. More details about the reception will be released at a later date.

Source: INSA