Nominations open for 2020 INSA Achievement Awards

The Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) is now accepting nominations for the 2020 INSA Achievement Awards. Now in its tenth year, the awards recognize outstanding early to mid-career professionals from the homeland security, intelligence and national security communities, as well as the senior leaders who inspire their success.

“Retaining top talent is a mission critical priority across government and its industry partners,” notes INSA Chairman Letitia Long. “Showing our up-and-coming leaders that their efforts are noticed and valued goes a long way toward strengthening the trusted workforce. I encourage senior IC leaders and their partners across the government, the armed forces, academia, and industry to nominate the rising stars and mentors within their organizations for one of these important awards.”

The six award categories span all segments of the Intelligence Community.


The Sidney D. Drell Academic Award Open to graduate students and untenured professors at accredited U.S. academic institutions.


The Richard J. Kerr Government Award Open to civilian government employees up to and including GS-13 and equivalent rank.


The John W. Warner Homeland Security Award Open to law enforcement professionals, intelligence analysts, and first responders from the federal government and state, local, tribal and territorial agencies.


The Edwin H. Land Industry Award Open to contractors and nongovernment employees with eight to ten years of nonexecutive experience.


The Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award Open to public, private and academic professionals up to and including GS-15/0-6 and equivalent rank.


The William O. Studeman Military Award – Open to uniformed military personnel up to and including 0-4/E-7.

Source: INSA