INSA announces 2018 Achievement Award recipients

On February 20, the Arlington-VA-based Intelligence and National Security Alliance (INSA) announced seven recipients of the 2018 INSA Achievement Awards. The awards recognize junior or mid-career professionals for exceptional leadership, mentorship, and contributions to U.S. intelligence, national security, or homeland security. A committee comprised from INSA’s leadership and Intelligence Champions Council (ICC) selected the following recipients:

  • Patrick T. Biltgen, Director of Analytics, Vencore (Edwin H. Land Industry Award)
  • LT Rachel O. Carter, USN, U.S. Special Operations Command (William O. Studeman Military Award)
  • SMSgt Timothy Favreau, USAF, Operations Superintendent, National Reconnaissance Office (Joan A. Dempsey Mentorship Award)
  • David Lindenbaum, Principal Engineer, In-Q-Tel CosmiQ Works (Edwin H. Land Industry Award)
  • Alison Lawlor Russell, Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Relations, Merrimack College (Sidney D. Drell Academic Award)
  • Don Parlett, Intelligence Analyst, Defense Intelligence Agency (Richard J. Kerr Government Award)
  • Lt. Adrienne Walsh, New York City Fire Department (John W. Warner Homeland Security Award)

The selection committee identified Biltgen and Lindenbaum as exceptional nominees for the Edwin H. Land Industry Award and decided to recognize both as dual recipients, an Achievement Awards first.

INSA Chairman Letitia Long said, “INSA is very proud to recognize these recipients and their remarkable accomplishments. They exemplify excellence, integrity, and selflessness, and demonstrate leadership qualities well ahead of their years. As a nation, we must look to them and their peers to lead U.S. intelligence and national security in the future. We hope this recognition strengthens their commitment to the mission and inspires continued outstanding service to the nation.”

The eighth annual INSA Achievement Awards ceremony took place Thursday, February 22, 2018, at the United States Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C. Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence Sue Gordon delivered the keynote address on leadership and public service.

The INSA board of directors established the Achievement Awards in 2010 to heighten public recognition and awareness of professionals who have served U.S. intelligence, national security, and homeland security missions with distinction. Each award is named for a recipient of the William Oliver Baker Award, which INSA presents annually to an individual for their sustained contributions to U.S. intelligence and national security affairs.

Source: INSA