Five pioneers inducted into the NSA/CSS Cryptologic Hall of Honor

Five cryptologic pioneers were inducted into the NSA/CSS Cryptologic Hall of Honor on November 2 at the National Security Agency. ADM Michael S. Rogers, USN, Commander, U.S. Cyber Command, Director, National Security Agency/Chief, Central Security Service, presided over the ceremony and highlighted the achievements of each of the distinguished inductees:

  • Ms. Mary H. “Polly” Budenbach – She was an innovative cryptanalyst who later led a “think tank” that developed groundbreaking ideas for NSA disciplines. She also helped break the “glass ceiling” for women at the Agency.
  • Mr. Dennis M. Chiari – At the beginning of the Internet age, he pioneered NSA’s Internet policy and its coordination with the Intelligence Community. He laid the foundation for NSA’s key Computer Network Operations mission.
  • Colonel Frank E. Herrelko, USAF (RET) – His leadership and vision transformed communications security from a craft into a discipline. His policies and procedures influenced COMSEC for several generations and laid the foundation for today’s information assurance mission.
  • Admiral Bobby Inman, USN (RET) – NSA Director from 1977 to 1981, he transformed NSA’s operations and relationships, championed innovative technical advances, and established a method of preparing leaders for their new roles that still serves NSA today.
  • Mr. Floyd L. Weakley – A trailblazer in cryptanalysis, he developed a brilliant test procedure that bears his name, led an elite cryptanalytic team, and played a key role in NSA’s recruitment of minorities into cryptologic careers.

The NSA/CSS Cryptologic Hall of Honor was created in 1999 to pay tribute to the pioneers and heroes who have made significant and enduring contributions to American cryptology. Visit the Cryptologic Hall of Honor for more information about these cryptologic greats.

Source: NSA